PNG: Carbon traders move in

Simon Butler – 23 January 2010
During the United Nations Copenhagen climate summit in December, fresh allegations emerged that unscrupulous carbon traders were buying up the rights to the carbon stored in forests in Papua New Guinea from indigenous landowners.

One PNG man told the December 12 SBS news he was forced to sign up at the point of a gun.

Abilie Wape, the head of a landowner group in Kamula Doso, told SBS he had refused to sign a deal with Australian carbon trader Kirk Roberts. “And I told them: ‘I’m not your small boy. I am not going to listen to anybody. I represent the village people.

“‘If I sign then that means I am selling my birthrights away’.”

Wape said later, “the police came with their gun”.

Full story here…

Posted on 11 February, 2010, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

